Who Built What
All roads & bridges
RoadUnder construction

Sardar Patel (SP) Ring Road

AUDA · Ring around Ahmedabad (Narol, Ramol, Ranasan, Bopal, Shela, Bhat etc.) · 76 km

A 76 km toll ring road around Ahmedabad owned by AUDA. It was widened to four lanes on a build-operate-transfer basis and AUDA has tendered its widening to six lanes with new overbridges and underpasses.

7
works on record
18 yr 4 mo
since last completed (29 May 2008)
₹2,493 cr
total sourced contract value
—
no citizen ratings yet

Build history

Every construction, widening and repair we could source, newest first.

  1. Work 7 of 7

    Road works by Kalthia Engineering (scope not specified)

    Under construction
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    Not disclosed

    Kalthia's website lists 'Sardar Patel Ring Road Around Ahmedabad, Gujarat' among its projects with no package, client, value or dates. The site files the entry under its 'Upcoming & Running Project' category, so it appears to be current work rather than a past job; the page does not say what the scope is or who the client is.

    Checked against sources
  2. Work 6 of 7

    Approach / underpass near Tragad village

    Completed
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completed
    Not on record
    Contract value
    ₹8.73 crore

    Listed by the contractor as 'approach on Ring Road near village Tragad for Sardar Patel Ring Road', client Executive Engineer AUDA, Rs 87.31 million, completed in financial year 2009-10, with the feature given as 'Under Pass'.

  3. Work 5 of 7

    Cross-drainage works, minor bridges and culverts (AUDA two-lane phase)

    Completed
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completed
    Not on record
    Contract value
    Not disclosed

    The contractor's completed-works statement lists 'cross drainage work for AUDA Ring Road Link-1 from Aslali NH-8 to Kamod SH-142' and 'minor bridge & culvert at various chainage of Ring Road', both for AUDA. Values and dates cannot be read reliably from the statement because its columns are misaligned.

    Checked against sources
  4. Work 4 of 7

    Six-laning – Package 2 (west, about 39 km)

    Upcoming
    Contractor
    Not on public record
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    ₹893 crore

    AUDA invited bids on 1 February 2025; DeshGujarat gives an estimated cost of Rs 893 crore for Package 2 (39 km per one report, 39.25 km per others, western side). A July 2025 DeshGujarat report said AUDA received nine bids for one package and eleven for the other, without saying which, and that contracts would be awarded soon. In November 2025 DeshGujarat reported that AUDA was set to begin work by 7 December 2025 on an annuity model with 15 years of operation and maintenance; the overall programme (put at Rs 2,000 crore to Rs 2,200 crore in different reports) includes 11 overbridges, 4 underpasses, 2 river bridges and 5 foot overbridges. In July 2026 an AUDA official told the Times of India that the work had been assigned to two companies and that the Bhat underpass would be built as part of the widening; the companies were not named. No source opened gives an award date or confirms that work has actually started, so the contractor, award date and start date remain unconfirmed.

  5. Work 3 of 7

    Six-laning – Package 1 (east, 37 km)

    Upcoming
    Contractor
    Not on public record
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    ₹848 crore

    AUDA invited bids on 1 February 2025; DeshGujarat gives an estimated cost of Rs 848 crore for Package 1 (37 km, eastern side). A July 2025 DeshGujarat report said AUDA received nine bids for one package and eleven for the other, without saying which, and that contracts would be awarded soon. In November 2025 DeshGujarat reported that AUDA was set to begin work by 7 December 2025 on an annuity model with 15 years of operation and maintenance; the overall programme (put at Rs 2,000 crore to Rs 2,200 crore in different reports) includes 11 overbridges, 4 underpasses, 2 river bridges and 5 foot overbridges. In July 2026 an AUDA official told the Times of India that the work had been assigned to two companies and that the Bhat underpass would be built as part of the widening; the companies were not named. No source opened gives an award date or confirms that work has actually started, so the contractor, award date and start date remain unconfirmed.

  6. Work 2 of 7

    Six-laning (first attempt via concessionaire)

    Cancelled
    Bidder (not the builder)
    Ahmedabad Ring Road Infrastructure Ltd (Sadbhav Engineering)
    Contract awarded
    2019
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    ₹200 crore

    AUDA asked the concessionaire to widen the road in 2019; the firm withdrew by June 2021 after AUDA declined to extend its tolling period by 3.5 years.

    Checked against sources
  7. Work 1 of 7

    Original construction / four-laning on BOT

    Completed
    Contract awarded
    7 Sep 2006
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completed
    29 May 2008
    Contract value
    ₹544 crore
    Age since completion
    18 yr 4 mo

    Per the Sadbhav Infrastructure Project Ltd draft prospectus (2015): concession agreement between AUDA and Ahmedabad Ring Road Infrastructure Ltd (ARRIL) dated 7 September 2006 for widening the then two-lane, 76.35 km ring road to four lanes on BOT; provisional completion on 29 May 2008, a month ahead of schedule; project cost Rs 543.5 crore as certified at 30 June 2008; EPC work carried out by Sadbhav Engineering; 20-year concession from January 2007 to December 2026 with seven toll plazas. ARRIL's shareholders were Sadbhav Engineering and Patel Infrastructure (shareholders' agreement of 18 September 2006); by 2015 Sadbhav Infrastructure held 93.99% and Patel Infrastructure about 6%. The Rs 355 crore and 2004/2006 figures quoted elsewhere come from Wikipedia and news reports and appear to relate to AUDA's earlier two-lane road (AUDA's own site gives Rs 335 crore for developing the ring road).

Citizen reports

Anonymous photos and notes from people who use this stretch.

Rate condition

No reports yet for Sardar Patel (SP) Ring Road.

Snap a photo next time you drive past and be the first to post.