Kharicut Canal redevelopment corridor (road over covered canal)
AMC (50:50 funding with Gujarat irrigation department) · East Ahmedabad: Naroda – Nikol – Odhav – Vinzol, with phase 2 to SP Ring Road, Ghodasar and Vatva · 12.75 km
The 19th-century Kharicut irrigation canal through eastern Ahmedabad is being boxed in with precast RCC and stormwater conduits and topped with a roughly 100 ft road, creating a north-south mobility corridor. Phase 1 runs from Naroda crematorium to Vinzol Vehla in five packages.
Build history
Every construction, widening and repair we could source, newest first.
- UpcomingWork 6 of 6
Phase 2: SP Ring Road – Naroda Muktidham, and Vinzol – Ghodasar – Vatva – Khari river (22.4 km)
- Contract awarded
- 4 Dec 2025
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- ₹830 crore
DeshGujarat (5 December 2025) reported that the AMC standing committee approved the award on Thursday, 4 December 2025, at Rs 829.92 crore plus GST, 15.25% below an estimate of Rs 1,061.43 crore (the same report also cites an estimate of Rs 979.26 crore plus GST), covering about 22.415 km. The state had sanctioned Rs 1,003 crore for phase 2 in March 2025. Physical start is not confirmed in the sources read.
Checked against sources - Under constructionWork 5 of 6
Phase 1, Package 5: Thomas English School – Vinzol Vehla
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- Not disclosed
Gujarat Samachar's 25 June 2024 table gives the agency as 'Kalthia Energy', but the same article's text names the package 5 contractor as Kalthia Engineering and Construction, and Kalthia's own website lists 'Development of Kharicut Canal at Ahmedabad' among its projects. The table prints the amount as Rs 2,700 crore, inconsistent with the article's Rs 1,250 crore total for all five packages, so no cost is shown. The opposition alleged in that report that this package was being built with only a retaining wall; AMC denied any irregularity. Phase 1 overall has been reported at Rs 1,200 crore (March 2024), Rs 1,250 crore (June 2024) and Rs 1,338 crore (March 2025), and was described as nearly 80% complete in March 2025.
Checked against sources - Under constructionWork 4 of 6
Phase 1, Package 4: Odhav fire station – Thomas English School
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- Not disclosed
Gujarat Samachar's 25 June 2024 list (single source) names the agency for this package as 'RKC Infrastructure', and the article text says 'RKC Infrastructure Ltd' is the contractor of both packages 1 and 4 (package 1 is listed as 'RKC Infrabuilt'). The table prints the amount as Rs 2,450 crore, which is inconsistent with the article's Rs 1,250 crore total for all five packages, so no cost is shown. The opposition leader alleged in that report that the contractor covered parts of package 4 with diaphragm walls and RCC slabs instead of the specified precast boxes; AMC's standing committee chairman and an additional city engineer denied any irregularity.
Checked against sources - Under constructionWork 3 of 6
Phase 1, Package 3: Nidhipark Society – Odhav fire station (Ch. 5000–7600)
- Contractor
- Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd (RVNL)
- Contract awarded
- Oct 2022
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- ₹248 crore
RVNL disclosed on 20 October 2022 a letter of acceptance from AMC for this package at Rs 248.01 crore (Rs 248,00,83,364.78). Gujarat Samachar's June 2024 package table also names Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd for this stretch, but prints the amount as Rs 2,600 crore, which is inconsistent with its own Rs 1,250 crore total for all five packages. The same report says the opposition alleged that packages 2 and 3 also used diaphragm walls instead of RCC boxes; AMC's standing committee chairman and an additional city engineer denied any irregularity.
Checked against sources - Under constructionWork 2 of 6
Phase 1, Package 2: Navyug School crossing – Nidhipark Society (Ch. 2500–5000)
- Contractor
- Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd (RVNL)
- Contract awarded
- Oct 2022
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- ₹236 crore
RVNL disclosed on 20 October 2022 a letter of acceptance from AMC for this package at Rs 236.20 crore (Rs 236,19,70,464.23). Gujarat Samachar's June 2024 package table also names Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd for this stretch, but prints the amount as Rs 2,500 crore, which is inconsistent with its own Rs 1,250 crore total for all five packages. The same report says the opposition alleged that packages 2 and 3 also used diaphragm walls instead of RCC boxes; AMC's standing committee chairman and an additional city engineer denied any irregularity.
Checked against sources - Under constructionWork 1 of 6
Phase 1, Package 1: Naroda crematorium – Navyug School crossing (Ch. 0–2500)
- Contractor
- RKC Infrabuilt
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- Not disclosed
Contractor as listed by Gujarat Samachar on 25 June 2024 (single source); its table names 'RKC Infrabuilt' for this package while the article text calls the contractor of packages 1 and 4 'RKC Infrastructure Ltd'. The table prints the package amount as Rs 2,500 crore, which cannot be right because the same article puts all five packages at Rs 1,250 crore in total (it is probably a misprint for about Rs 250 crore), so no package cost is shown here. The same report carried AMC opposition leader Shehzad Khan Pathan's allegation of Rs 240 crore of corruption through deviations from the tender design, including a claim that the contractor of packages 1 and 4 built a diaphragm wall instead of the specified RCC boxes and was paid Rs 99 crore; the standing committee chairman said there was no corruption and an additional city engineer said work was proceeding as per the tender. These are allegations, not findings.
Checked against sources
Citizen reports
Anonymous photos and notes from people who use this stretch.
No reports yet for Kharicut Canal redevelopment corridor (road over covered canal).
Snap a photo next time you drive past and be the first to post.