Ahmedabad BRTS (Janmarg) corridor
AMC (Ahmedabad Janmarg Ltd) · Citywide · 89 km
The dedicated bus corridor network running down the median of major roads, designed by CEPT University.
Build history
Every construction, widening and repair we could source, newest first.
- CompletedWork 3 of 3
Subway at Soni-ni-Chali junction on NH-8 (for BRTS)
- Contractor
- Ajay Engi-Infrastructure Pvt Ltd
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completed
- Not on record
- Contract value
- Not disclosed
Listed by the contractor as 'sub way at Sini ni chal Junction on NH-8 for BRTS Ahmedabad' for AMC, completed in financial year 2010-11, 1200 mm piles with RCC box. Cost is left blank because the firm's own documents disagree: its website gives Rs 47.5 million, while its completed-works statement shows an estimated cost of about Rs 33.9 crore, a revised contract of Rs 23.5 crore and about Rs 23.55 crore of work done, with award on 2 July 2009 and actual completion on 3 January 2011.
Checked against sources - Status not confirmedWork 2 of 3
BRTS corridor construction package (GRIL–MSKEL JV)
- Contractor
- GRIL–MSKEL JV (M.S. Khurana Engineering Ltd with G R Infrastructure Ltd, as named by ICRA)
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completion
- Not on record
- Contract value
- ₹129 crore
An ICRA rating note of August 2010 says M.S. Khurana Engineering was executing 'construction of Bus Road Transport System (BRTS) corridors in Ahmedabad (Rs 129.0 crore)' with 'G R infrastructure Limited (GRIL-MSKEL JV)', one of two 40:60 joint ventures it then had. Which corridor stretch the package covered is not stated, and no source opened confirms when or whether this package was completed. The partner is commonly known as G R Infraprojects Ltd, but ICRA's note uses the name given here.
Checked against sources - CompletedWork 1 of 3
Corridor construction (phased)
- Contract awarded
- Not on record
- Work started
- Not on record
- Completed
- Dec 2015
- Contract value
- ₹1,200 crore
- Age since completion
- 10 yr 10 mo
Ahmedabad Janmarg Ltd's own 'Team' page (archived copy, June 2023) lists the road-infrastructure contractors as 'Roman Tarmet and IRB Ltd., GRIL-MSKEL (JV), J.KUMAR-PBA (JV)'; bus-station works by Nila Infrastructure, P. R. Patel & Co and D. R. Agrawal Infracon; planning and design by CEPT University; and project management by Lea Associates South Asia. The page spells the first firm 'Roman Tarmet' and does not say which firm built which stretch. A brokerage's company history of IRB records two 2007 AMC contracts: Narol Circle–Naroda Patiya (Rs 132.99 crore) and Pirana–Danilimda–Maninagar–Narol (Rs 78.36 crore). Per Wikipedia, the first corridor opened on 14 October 2009 and the network reached 89 km by December 2015 at a total cost of about Rs 1,200 crore (the same article's introduction says December 2017). The Rs 1,200 crore figure is the cost of the whole network, not of any one contractor's work.
Checked against sources
Citizen reports
Anonymous photos and notes from people who use this stretch.
No reports yet for Ahmedabad BRTS (Janmarg) corridor.
Snap a photo next time you drive past and be the first to post.