Who Built What
All roads & bridges
RoadUnder construction

Sabarmati Riverfront Phase 2 river-drive roads (Dafnala / Torrent power station – Indira Bridge)

SRFDCL / AMC · Both banks of the Sabarmati from Shahibaug Dafnala (east) and Torrent power station (west) to Indira Bridge · 11 km

The northward extension of the riverfront embankments and river-drive roads by 5.8 km on the east bank and 5.2 km on the west bank, taking the riverfront from 23 km to 34 km. The overall phase 2 budget is about Rs 850 crore; the barrage-cum-bridge at Acher is a separate asset.

3
works on record
—
no completion date on record
—
total sourced contract value
—
no citizen ratings yet

Build history

Every construction, widening and repair we could source, newest first.

  1. Work 3 of 3

    Second component (3.98 km)

    Status not confirmed
    Contractor
    Not on public record
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    May 2022
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    Not disclosed

    Reports in 2022 said a tender for a further 3.98 km had been awarded with work starting in May 2022 and a June 2024 target; the contractor and value were not named and completion is not confirmed.

    Checked against sources
  2. Work 2 of 3

    East bank, Dafnala–Camp Sadar Bazar (1.25 km): diaphragm wall, stepped embankment and retaining wall

    Status not confirmed
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completion
    Not on record
    Contract value
    Not disclosed

    SRFDCL's own phase 2 page names ITD Cementation for the first 1,250 m east-bank package covering the diaphragm wall, lower/middle/upper promenades and retaining wall. Contract value and dates are not given there; a 2022 trade report expected this first component to finish by mid-2023.

  3. Work 1 of 3

    Approval of river-drive road extension to Indira Bridge

    Completed
    Contractor
    Not on public record
    Contract awarded
    Not on record
    Work started
    Not on record
    Completed
    Not on record
    Contract value
    Not disclosed

    SRFDCL approved the extension of the river-drive roads to Indira Bridge in August 2017, reported as 11.1 km in total (5.2 km on one bank and 5.9 km on the other). In October 2020 the concept planning and design for phase 2 got in-principle approval at an estimated Rs 850 crore for the whole phase (5.8 km east, 5.2 km west), with the Cantonment Board consenting to the use of about 13 ha of its land. The designer is not named in the reports read.

    Checked against sources

Citizen reports

Anonymous photos and notes from people who use this stretch.

Rate condition

No reports yet for Sabarmati Riverfront Phase 2 river-drive roads (Dafnala / Torrent power station – Indira Bridge).

Snap a photo next time you drive past and be the first to post.